Rosberg untouchable in FP3 at Monaco

Nico Rosberg blasted around Monte Carlo in his Mercedes F1 W04 in FP3 today completing a hat trick of fastest laps in all three free practice sessions. Rosberg eclipsed second placed Romain Grosjean by a huge 0.663s margin.

Sebastian Vettel was third fastest 0.883s adrift of Rosberg with Fernando Alonso fourth fastest. Lewis Hamilton and Kimi Raikkonen closed out the top six in an eventful session. Felipe Massa hit the barriers hard in the Ferrari causing substantial front and rear damage after losing control under braking. The exact cause is yet to be confirmed but mechanical failure of some sort cannot be ruled out. Massa was uninjured and walked away from the accident scene. Next to come unstuck was the Force India VJM06 of Adrian Sutil who heavily brushed the barriers and this was followed shortly after by the hapless Romain Grosjean who had earlier punctured a rear tyre on his Lotus E21 ploughing into the barriers after losing control causing significant damage.

Whether Ferrari, Lotus and Force India can repair the cars in time for the first qualifying session remains to be seen.

F1 2013 Monaco Grand Prix - Free Practice 3
Lap Time
Speed Kph
Total Diff
Nico RosbergMercedesF1W0411m 14.378s161.6610.0000.00022
Romain GrosjeanLotusE2121m 15.039s160.2370.6610.66113
Sebastian VettelRed BullRB931m 15.261s159.7640.2220.88317
Fernando AlonsoFerrariF13841m 15.286s159.7110.0250.90817
Lewis HamiltonMercedesF1W0451m 15.311s159.6580.0250.93320
Kimi RaikkonenLotusE2161m 15.380s159.5120.0691.00219
Mark WebberRed BullRB971m 15.550s159.1530.1701.17220
Paul Di-RestaForce IndiaVJM0681m 15.594s159.0600.0441.21617
Pastor MaldonadoWilliamsFW3591m 15.861s158.5000.2671.48315
Nico HulkenbergSauberC32101m 15.926s158.3650.0651.54825
Sergio PerezMcLarenMP4-28111m 15.958s158.2980.0321.58023
Jenson ButtonMcLarenMP4-28121m 15.976s158.2610.0181.59819
Jean-Eric VergneToro RossoSTR8131m 15.976s158.2610.0001.59821
Daniel RicciardoToro RossoSTR8141m 16.060s158.0860.0841.68216
Adrian SutilForce IndiaVJM06151m 16.068s158.0690.0081.69012
Felipe MassaFerrariF138161m 16.105s157.9920.0371.7278
Esteban GutierrezSauberC32171m 16.427s157.3270.3222.04926
Valtteri BottasWilliamsFW35181m 16.933s156.2920.5062.55517
Charles PicCaterhamCT03191m 17.902s154.3480.9693.52420
Giedo Van Der GardeCaterhamCT03201m 18.102s153.9530.2003.72420
Jules BianchiMarussiaMR02211m 18.706s152.7710.6044.32822
Max ChiltonMarussiaMR02221m 19.228s151.7650.5224.85022

Leave a Reply